The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old January 3, 2009, 11:09 PM   #1
Gamehunter59

.22 bulk ammo

Which brand shoots cleaner and jams less in your experiences: Federal 550 bulk pack or the Remington Golden Bullet 550 bulk pack
Old January 3, 2009, 11:20 PM   #2
SPUSCG

beware, soon a flood of people will be on overglorifying federal bulk, dont get me wrong, it shoots accurately but ftfs alot, golden sabres cant possibly be worse than thunderbolts:barf:

heard good things about winchester
Old January 3, 2009, 11:43 PM   #3
mbreitba

I've had some bad experiences with the golden bullets, but YMMV.

I've had really good luck with the Federal AutoMatch. It cycles quite well and groups extremely well (1/2" 5 shot groups typically) at 50 yards w/ my 10/22 w/ a butler creek bull barrel.
Old January 3, 2009, 11:47 PM   #4
stevelyn

I'll be the first to chime in here and give Federal my vote of confidence.

However, Federal Bulk has two loads, #745 and #750. Load #745 seems to be the one with less issues. The numbers for #745 are slightly higher than they are for #750, but in the real world don't make any difference.

East Moose. Wear Wolf.
Old January 3, 2009, 11:48 PM   #5
Wuchak

All of my .22's do well with Remington Golden Bullet bulk pack but .22's are notoriously picky about ammo. The RGB's is what I always keep stocked up on.

I'll add a second vote for that Federal Automatch. It's a little more expensive than the regular bulk pack stuff but it's definitely a big step up in quality. I usually keep that on hand too.
Old January 4, 2009, 01:04 PM   #6
JWT

Have never had any problems with any of my .22s with Federals or Blazer bulk packs. My semi autos do have problems with the Remington 'Goldies'. Whatever the waxy stuff they put on them seems to be the issue.
Old January 4, 2009, 01:21 PM   #7
2FNSLO