The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old September 6, 2010, 02:08 PM   #1
LFRAME

Colt Army Special SA Lockup

Hello, new to forum (forums in general too). I have a Colt Army Special that will not fully lock when the hammer is drawn back and the SA sear is fully seated. From this point, the cylinder will lock with just a slight push of a few degrees clockwise. The DA lockup is perfect and since I am new to Colts, I'm confused as to whether this actually may be the correct function of Colt in SA mode. The Kaun??? Manual does not state whether this is right or wrong. When the hammer drops in SA mode, the cylinder DOES rotate that final few degrees and locks. Using snap caps in both SA and DA produces strike marks identical. I've had this weapon apart multiple times and have studied it's workings pretty hard and can not see any reason other than a worn SA surface on the trigger causing this to happen. If it does indeed need to fully lock in SA, I can't see how "stretching" the hand would not cause binding in DA. ???
Old September 6, 2010, 05:56 PM   #2
Webleymkv

An Army Special would have the "old" Colt action and what you describe sounds normal. Try this test, cock the hammer and pull the trigger while holding the hammer back with your offhand thumb. The cylinder should turn a bit and lock into place. Gently lower the hammer while holding the trigger back. While still holding the trigger back, use your other hand to check for front to back and rotational play in the cylinder as there should be none. Granted, I'm working off of memory here from the 1953-vintage Cobra I used to have. If I've misremembered anything, I'm sure one of the Colt experts will be along with the correct info shortly.
Old September 6, 2010, 06:12 PM   #3
LFRAME

Thanks webley