The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 1, 2009, 12:19 AM   #1
usernameunknown

ar 10 308

I am new to reloading and have only reloaded a few hundred 45 acp rounds under direct supervision of my dad (sounds like im 12 lol) I recently was given a rcbs rock chucker sr. reloading set up from my grandfather. It is an older press but well maintained and built right in the first place. I have been saving brass from my ar 10 and would like to do some research on what people are using in their semi auto 308 cal rifles. Unfortunately all of the literature that I have on reloading is from 1980 and before so most of the powders available today are not listed. I will be searching for newer books at a local gun show this weekend but I would also like to do some net research. What style, brand , type and grain of bullet are recommended and what brand, grain of powder are considered to be the best preforming for a semi auto rifle. I will be taking this rifle to the range often but I want to practice with the same as I shoot in a hunt. It has been explained to me that some powders burn slower and are better used on bolt action or single shot rifles vs a faster burning powder for semi auto. I dont want a load too light to correctly time my action and cause jams but also a load so heavy that I loose the ballistic advantage of a 308. The only mods are my Leupold vx-lll 3.5 x-10 x 50, Harris by pod and a magpul adjustable stock.
Old January 1, 2009, 12:47 AM   #2
Creeper

You can wear out a barrel playing with the number of .308 loads that are available.
At least with a semi-auto, you're limited to the OAL unless you single load them thru the ejection port.