The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 2, 2013, 11:57 PM   #1
hbhobby

Why tumble brass

Other than making it look pretty why tumble brass? Granted i am new at this and have only been loading 20 years and i have never tumbled rifle brass. Was just curious if there is another reason besides cosmetic.
Old October 3, 2013, 12:21 AM   #2
jcwit

Makes it easier to see flaws in the cases IMO.

Otherwise, Why wash & wax your car?
Old October 3, 2013, 12:34 AM   #3
oldreloader

yep! I agree with jc. As my eyes get older the cleaned brass makes it easier to inspect.
Old October 3, 2013, 01:20 AM   #4
JustSomeGuy

Actually, I think the best reason to tumble brass is to get it clean enough so that it will not foul up your reloading dies. Dirt and grit are the enemies of smooth operation of your reloading press, and dirt in the dies can scratch them and leave marks that will impress themselves into your brass and may cause problems down the line.
Old October 3, 2013, 01:23 AM   #5
NWPilgrim

Mostly cosmetic. Agree with the others it can make it easier to see defects i the brass. My "shiny standards" have gradually risen over the years.

I went 18 years with just a cheap vibratory tumbler and as long as the worst of the range dirt and tarnish were removed I was happy. then I started tumbling longer, keeping a "dirty" bag of media for initial cleaning and a "nice" bag of media only used for polishing after sizing. Then I tried ultrasonic cleaning. And now I have finally moved into stainless steel media wet tumbling.

I have to keep reminding myself it is not really functional reasons and i am doing it just to make it look pretty. After putting in so much research, testing and careful assembly of my ammo, to me it is worth the effort and expense to also have it look great.