The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old February 13, 2015, 03:24 AM   #1
jsust

1923 DWM COMMERCIAL LUGER $950 should i buy?

The pawn shop near me is selling this luger and im thinking about buying it. I do not know much about lugers but upon research it seems like a fair price. is it a good buy?
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (175.4 KB, 233 views)
Old February 13, 2015, 10:32 AM   #2
mapsjanhere

If all the numbers are matching and there's decent finish left it's a good price. If the numbers are mismatched and it's refinished it's too high.
Old February 13, 2015, 12:37 PM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

I'm by no means a Luger expert, but I do have the Standard Catalog of Luger (Davis 2006), and I can find no listing for a DWM 1923 Commercial model.

Guns listed as 1923 models are the "safe & loaded" (rare, 7,000 made), the 1923 Stoeger American Eagle (very rare less than 1,000 made), the 1923 Stoeger "safe & loaded" (included in the American Eagle number), the 1923 Finnish Military contract, (approx. 6,500 made) and the 1923 Swedish contract (less than 1,000 made).

I can not find anything that precisely matches the specs in the linked picture.

If the gun is a 1920 Commercial model (which just happens to be dated 1923) it is a very common gun, and in VG condition was listed at $1,000 and good at $650 (2006 prices).

$950 in today's dollars for an all matching number, original finish good or better, Luger is a very good deal. If the gun has been refinished, and/or does not have ALL matching numbers, its only a fair deal, in my opinion.

Better answers on current value can be found with the Luger experts on Luger collector web sites.

I bought a reblued, mismatched 1936 gun (which looks brand new) for $750, but that was over 5 years ago. At the shows, "shooter" Lugers are around $1,000 currently (which is high), but, it's a seller's market. (and they tend to hang around at those prices, )

Good luck!