The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old April 14, 2005, 11:24 AM   #1
Robin

SW 500 Magnum

Hallo,

I am a new member from Europe, Czech Republic, Prague. Is any member from Czech Republic or Germany? I am no gun expert, I just like firing in my free time (got not much). I am quite peaceable man, even no hunter, but just like guns. I have one CZ 75 and now bought this big SW 500 Magnum.
Last summer I saw the picture and told me - this one I should keep. Really it is a right american making and is really nice.
Many years ago I shot 44 Magnum. Is a great difference betweeon shooting 44 Magnum und 500 Magnum? What should I fire at ? (I think it is a pity to fire with Magnum on 25 m target). Can anybody give me an advice for ammunition ? (new is rather expensiv) .
Thank for your replies.
Greetings from Europe to America
Robin
Old April 14, 2005, 01:14 PM   #2
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to The Firing Line, Robin!

I'm moving your question to the Handgun forum from here so more experts will see it.

-Dave
Tick-off Obama - Join the NRA Today - Save $10
Old April 14, 2005, 01:24 PM   #3
Whiskey Tango

Robin, congrats, you bought a hand cannon!

Here in America, 500S&W ammunition sells for about $45 for a box of 20, and unfortunately since this is a recently introduced cartridge, there is no military surplus or Wolf Ammo that you could purchase. My suggestion would be to buy a few boxes of ammunition, and keep the brass to reload, but I wouldn't know where to find dies sized for 500S&W.

As for shooting differences, your shooting should be comfortable, since they are fitted with a compensator at the muzzle, weigh 72oz, and fitted with a Hogue grip, I would expect for the recoil to be mild.

To give you an idea, look at the picture below:

Enjoy, I am truly jealous of you sir!
Old April 14, 2005, 11:52 PM   #4
Sodbuster