The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 24, 2002, 10:51 PM   #1
sjones

what is best load for skeet?

I am new to this sport and have a few questions.What are some of your pet loads?Does it matter if you use 1 oz or 1 1/8 oz. What vel do you shoot for. I am using green dot to 1200,with 7 1/2 shot. Also,what kind of choke is best?I am using skeet choke,would ic or im be better? sj
Old December 25, 2002, 12:04 AM   #2
sricciardelli

3 dram, 1-1/8 ounce of #8 shot.
Old December 25, 2002, 01:40 AM   #3
HSMITH

If you are shooting an auto I would recommend a 1 oz load at around 1200 FPS, and that one ounce be #9 shot. If you are shooting a fixed breech gun I would recommend that you shoot 1 ounce at 1100 or so, and make that one ounce #9 shot. The higher velocity of the auto gun load will help to open the pattern up a tad with an open choke, but still provide adequate density to hammer the target. The lower velocity of the fixed breech load is the lowest I have been able to go and still get the load to respond to choking, any slower and the patterns get really tight really fast.

The longest shot you are going to have in skeet is no more than 30 yards, if it is longer you screwed up bad and load selection is not going to help. Shoot a few patterns at 25 yards and take a look at the loads I mentioned. You are going to want to look into a cylinder or skeet choke, both lighter than imp cyl but he skeet only a tad.

Stay with #9 shot if you buy shot for skeet. #8 is not going to cost you even one lost bird, niether is 7.5. Shoot what you have on hand, but #9 will give you the really spectacular breaks that make us all feel good.

Keep the velocity AND the shot charge as light as you can, it helps make practice fun and you improve that much faster. Skeet is a game that takes some practice to hit the upper levels, don't hammer yourself with heavy loads when they just are not needed.