The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old August 6, 2001, 02:06 AM   #1
Ken Cook

Newby Questions. (gun tuning)

Howdy Cowboys!
While I've been a member of TFL for a long time, this is my first occasion to visit the CAS forum. When it comes to anything other than a Ruger Super Blackhawk, I am a rank novice on single action pistols, I've found that I have "the bug" for CAS and I've got QUESTIONS!

For our anniversary, my wife just bought me a NIB EMF New Dakota with 4 3/4 barrel, .45LC with .45acp spare cylinder.

I've put about 100 rounds of .45LC through it, and I'm in love.
(Please tell me my love is not misplaced and that this is a good gun?)

Now for the questions.

1. Supposedly this is a Colt SAA Clone. How close a clone is it? Is there true 100 percent parts interchagablility?

2. I don't like the aluminum triggerguard and backstrap, can I get brass or steel replacements? Is one a better choice than the other? Either way, where could I find these parts if they exist?

3. The Sear and Trigger screws do not reach all the way through the frame, falling short of flush by approx. 1/16th to 3/32nds. Is this normal or do I need to replace these screws?

4. Trigger pull weight remains untested so far, but it has a very clean break and feels good to my finger, but I feel it needs to be a bit lighter. Should I do a spring swap or is hammer/sear work a better choice. (I am a Marine Corps trained Gunsmith, just no experience with the SA arms for obvious reasons.) If hammer/sear work is recommended, where can I find specs on engagement, angles etc?