The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 18, 2008, 08:35 PM   #1
steve-o 1911

Headspace

I'm not sure where to ask this question about the term Headspace. What does it mean? I read up on it alittle and kinda know what they are talking about, but why is it so important? do you need to know this if your reloading, and do i have to worry about it on my 1911 45 and AR-15 223. I'm new to this, so help please
Old March 18, 2008, 08:54 PM   #2
CowTowner

I would think this one would be better asked in the "Smithy" area.
I think I know what headspace is, but since I'm no expert, I'll choose to not show my ignorance in public. (any more than I already have done in the past)
“Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life......” President John F. Kennedy
Old March 18, 2008, 10:39 PM   #3
cdrt

What is Headspace?
by Walt Kuleck

---------------------------------------------------------

For those of us who are relatively ignorant and/or inexperienced as gunsmiths, could you be "technical" for a bit about the subject? What exactly is headspace? Where is it? What are the tolerances, etc?

There are two ways to look at headspace. First, let's consider the practical definition, and follow up with the technical one.