The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 7, 2010, 12:34 PM   #1
jnestle

question about load Discrepancies

I am new to reloading and been doing my homework and have purchased my equipment and supplies needed to start the journey. I subscribed to Loaddata.com and have bought other manuals as well. I want to start reloading 40 cal for a Springfield XDM.
My observation is I am finding load data discrepancies for the bullet (Nosler 135gr JHP and Powder (Alliant Bullseye) that I have purchased. Example:from Nosler data it shows a maximum load of 6.4 whereas the data from Alliant shows a max load of 7.6. I realize I will not start with a max load but, logically,the descrepancy follows down to the starting load as well. I assume I would want to start with the smaller load suggested by Nosler in that it is smaller than the Alliant starting load. I just want to be safe and sure. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Old April 7, 2010, 12:46 PM   #2
1911rocks

Old method

The old method prior to the Internet and higher levels of disposable income was:

1) Buy a loading manual and a Chronograph
2) Decide what Velocity/ Energy that is acceptable for your purposes. (not attainable? Get a more powerful caliber)
3) Start at the minimum and work your way up to attain the desired Velocity/Energy (10% increment)
4) Stop when Desired levels are obtained or when you see signs of over pressure.
5) If Over Pressure signs are observed reduce that load by 10%
Old April 7, 2010, 12:48 PM   #3

Not a big deal. It is very common for different manuals to vary their loads from others. Some sources are just a bit more conservative than others. Look and see if the test gun/ barrell length differs as well, I'll bet it does. Also, your are correct to start with the minimum published load and work up.

Good luck, Jeff.