The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 21, 2007, 01:42 AM   #1
bushidomosquito

Electromagnetic firing pin?

So what about using an electromagnetic coil to throw a firing pin? I've been toying with building a .40 S&W carbine (think mech tech conversion sans glock) and got a little stumped on the firing mech. I know all of the tried and true designs are used for a reason but I was testing a 24v relay and was amazed at how fast and hard it would snap even against a fairly stout spring. Aside from the obvious problem of having to rely on a battery for operation it seems like trigger pull and lock time could be reduced to a minimum. If another coil were used to hold a lightweight bolt closed against a permanet ring magnet the problems of gas operation and heavy blowback bolts slappin' around would be eliminated as well. I'm a machinist, not a gunsmith, but I have a very good understanding of firearms design and will turn an idea around and around in my head until all the bugs are out. I think this is just the place to find some guys to tell me all the reasons it will or won't work. Any thoughts?
Old November 21, 2007, 08:54 AM   #2
Harry Bonar

tank round pins

Sir:
I wouldn't have one on a sporting rifle but some tank rounds have a set-up where the firing pin is imbedded in the primer and then it is electrically fired.
Harry B.
Old November 21, 2007, 09:45 AM   #3
Jim Watson

I take it you are talking about an electrical actuator to drive a firing pin against a percussion primer, not an electrical primer as in Harry's artillery piece or Remington's Etronx. Can you fit a solenoid to drive a firing pin in the space of a mainspring? If not, why bother, except as a design challenge?