The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 28, 2013, 09:14 AM   #1
grizmt

9mm spec HELP!

Good morning y'all!
I'm a newbie at reloading so please excuse my ignorance, I'm trying to be careful so as to NOT blow off my wife's hands. Her mouth, well that's another subject, I guess it gets shot off enough as it is but I digress.

Anyway, I've got a Hornady LNL progressive and I'm trying to load Rainer 147 gr. HP bullets with Titegroup powder.
According to the Lyman book the load should be from 2.5-2.8 following Rainer's suggestion that you use cast bullet specs. I'm getting 2.6 pretty consistently with the case activated powder loader.
I'm having a problem with bullet seat depth though. I adjust the seating die on a bullet to the exact OAL stated and ran a few dummies through. They were all different. After going through this I decided I'd investigate the bullets themselves and while they're supposed to weight 147 gr. they were all over the place from 141-146 gr. which leads me to believe that they're also different in length as well.
It also kind of kills off doing a fast weight check of a loaded bullet.

They're to be used in a Sig P250 compact and for target practice until I get more experience at this.

Am I missing something? I can't keep adjusting seating depth from bullet to bullet, it'd take a year and a day to load a box of 50!
Old June 28, 2013, 10:29 AM   #2
higgite