The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 12, 2009, 03:22 AM   #1
Sixer

Primer pocket...

Ok, this kinda sucks... I tumbled, deprimed, and sized around 500 pieces of .223 brass, only to find that the little primer ring things decided to stay in the primer pockets. I thought I was ready to prime these cases, but the primers won't fit due to the rings in the pocket. How the heck do I get these things out so I can fit the primers in the case?

I'm new at this, so I apologize for the newb question Thanks in advance.

-There is no theory of evolution... Just a list of creatures Chuck Norris has allowed to live.
Old March 12, 2009, 07:34 AM   #2
wwmkwood

That ringy thing is the crimp used on military brass, search for crimp removal. I use the RCBS swag kit some ream it and some use a Dillon tool.
Old March 12, 2009, 07:51 AM   #3
robfromga

Sounds like the military crimp. You have several options from a 10 dollar hand tool to a 100 dillon super swage. If its only a couple hundred and you wont have any more than go the cheap route. But more than that then a proper tool will make life more better You should be able to do 200ish in less than a hr with the super swage, will take longer and way more hand sttrength with a hand tool. Its also my opion the the super swage is easier on the brass.

http://www.dillonprecision.com/conte...wage_600_parts
Old March 12, 2009, 07:57 AM   #4
Dingoboyx

The problem with buying ex millitary brass, unfortunately for us