The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 30, 2005, 02:03 PM   #1
Kiel_Everett

Shooting stance...

Hello, I have been lurking on this forum for a while now. It has given me great info on various subjects. But, I went through the 'search' process for shooting stance info, but there is so much and not sure if any had pictures. What I am looking for is pictures of the various shooting stances. I am new to shooting and am having trouble with my stance and getting it right, well whats right for me. If anyone could give me a link, post some pictures of your own or someone elses, or a link from this forum, it would be much appreciated. Thank you.
Old December 30, 2005, 02:13 PM   #2
Capt. Charlie
Moderator Emeritus

First off Kiel, welcome to TFL! There are top flight shooters here that can and will help with this and any other area of firearms interest.

The link below is to a short but informative article on stances, with pictures. I'm sure others will have good input here as well.

http://www.midwesttraininggroup.net/...ke_a_stand.htm

I train in earnest, to do the things that I pray in earnest, I'll never have to do.

--Capt. Charlie
Old December 30, 2005, 02:37 PM   #3
The British Soldier

Many believe, as I do, that the Weaver stance is the way ahead; but whatever works for you is good.

To get into the weaver position I always tell people to imagine that they are boxers and that invariably gets them into that position of having their torso slightly oblique to the target, left foot forward and arms ahead and bent at the elbow. Try it and see if it works for you.