The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 2, 2009, 09:22 PM   #1
AZwarts

New to the sport and need help

Hello,
I am just getting into sporting clays and wanted advice on wether it makes a difference to get a .12 gauge or a .20 gauge. Currently i have been offered a Remington model 870 in .20 gauge. Any thoughts? thank you

Also, most of the guys in my church get together and go hunting. Will a .20 have enough knock down for birds such as quail and pheasent

Last edited by AZwarts; December 2, 2009 at 11:34 PM.
Old December 2, 2009, 09:25 PM   #2
Homer-Sm

20 gauge would put you at a disadvantage. To learn, and build confidence I would suggest starting with a 12 gauge.

Then as you progress or look for more challenges then go with a smaller gauge.

BUT then again. If you start with the 20 and get good. Then go to the 12 gauge you'll smoke everything you see.
Old December 2, 2009, 09:25 PM   #3
zoomie

I use a 20 and break them just as well as the guys with 12s. I also miss them just as cleanly.
Old December 2, 2009, 09:36 PM   #4
AZwarts

Thanks for the input I have shot sporting clays with both calibers and I didn't feel a real difference although i am used to a .12. My friend is selling me a .20 model 870 for 250
Old December 2, 2009, 10:07 PM   #5
oneounceload

There aren't any targets out there that a 20 won't break and a 12 will. That being said, the better availability and wider selection of ammo choices, added with the extra weight, makes the 12 the practical choice. Weight is your friend when it comes to shooting a lot of targets. Coupled with light target loads, you'll minimize the devastating long-term effects of a lot of recoil
Old December 2, 2009, 11:58 PM   #6
zippy13

Greetings, AZwarts, and welcome aboard.