The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 17, 2012, 09:47 PM   #1
pspc271

185gr. Berrys & XTP w/Titegroup Results & Questions

I will try not to make this to long, just wanted to post some results and ask a few questions. I am new to reloading so this is all a learning process for me.

First the loads, all were fired threw my FN FNP-45 which has a 5.3 inch barrel. All brass was once fired Speer and Winchester brass and reloaded with Remington Large Pistol Primers. I was shooting from 10 yards standing unsupported.

I originally started with 100 230gr Hornady FMJ RN loaded over 4.6gr of Titegroup. Shot flawlessly and grouped very well. Was very soft shooting, noticeably less recoil than Walmart white box. I had a couple of jams, failure to feed, but attribute that to a possible faulty magazine for the moment.

Next I loaded Berry's 185gr HBRN plated bullets, 10 rounds each at 5.0gr, 5.2gr, 5.4gr, and 5.8gr, all again with Titegroup. I found that at 5.0gr the gun stove piped on every round and shot placement was inconsistent. 5.2-5.8 functioned well but the lower loads were again very soft recoiling. The 5.8gr load produced the tightest grouping and was still very easy to handle.

I then loaded 185gr Hornday XTPs with 5.8 and 6.0gr of Titegroup this time in nickel plated Speer brass. For some reason even though I used the same die setup as I did for the standard speer/ winchester brass most of the Nickel cases would not feed properly but would fire if individually fed. Almost seemed if the bell had not been removed and was hanging the case up. Anyways, it seemed the 5.8gr loading fired the tightest group, recoil was completely manageable and not noticeably different from a factory hollow point.

Unfortunately I do not have a chrono so I feel like I'm missing out on half of the data that I could have gotten from this work up.

Now for the questions.