The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old February 11, 2010, 10:20 AM   #1
Bluehighways

Carving your own rifle stock

Hi all, I am interested in carving my own stock for a project rifle of mine. I am a professional machinist and prior to that I was a cabinetmaker. Carving, however is one area of craft that I have never explored.

I think I can reasonably follow an outlined figure, removing only what's necessary from the blank. Inletting won't be a problem; I don't see how it can be any more technical than hand fitting dovetails or mortise and tenon joints.

I am wondering if anyone here has carved their own stocks before. If you have, please share any tips, processes, notes, or follys you encountered/discovered during carving.

Anything information or experiences would help. As it is, I can't seem to find any instruction on the internet, and money is REALLY tight right now so I can't go and buy books. Thanks.
Old February 11, 2010, 10:24 AM   #2
Lavid2002

dont have much to share.... I stated with a 10/22 stock and I added some "Curves" to it and channeled it for a .920 BBL. I painted the stock. This was to my advantage because a stained stock will show imperfections. More than paint will at least. Since it was painted I could epoxy all the area I cut down too far and try again! No big deal

Hope this helped. Good luck! Its just a piece of wood dont let it frustrate you. Google search rifle stock from scratch there are several DIY's out there.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrKT-KciSyw
Old February 11, 2010, 05:38 PM   #3
KEN K