The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 8, 2016, 10:21 AM   #1
Carbineman

Hi to all from sunny Puerto Rico

Hi, to all, wishing a very pleasant and healthy new year.

Retired History professor, enjoying free time. May say that I’m new to reloading. Looking to learn the science behind it; say, the nuts and bolts.

I recently started in competition shooting, reason for my wanting to know about ballistics, trajectory, etc. Putting reloading to service besides economy and lack of ammo.
Military rifle collector, so many of them I shoot but the scarcity of ammo here in the Island pushed me into reloading.

Your help and wisdom is much appreciated as I am here to learn from the Pros, you all.

My respect to the community.

Yours must humble servant,
Carbineman
Old February 8, 2016, 10:48 AM   #2
Mauser69

Your first step should be to by Modern Reloading by Richard Lee and read it in depth. You will get more understanding about reloading in general and specifics about cartridge pressures and how they affect the results than any other source I know. After you have carefully digested what he writes, you will already know more than about half the people who will respond to you on these forums, and all of your questions will be meaningful. More importantly, you will already have enough knowledge to reasonably identify the intelligent responses when two posters disagree with each other.

Even if you never actually start reloading, this book will give you a much better understanding of what is going on in your guns.