The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 18, 2005, 11:55 PM   #1
No Name XII

Freebore and some other stuff

First off; I am new to metallic reloading, go easy. I am loading up some barnes 220 gr. solids for .300 Win. Mag., and I want to know if there will be enought freebore left if they are loaded to the max COL. I would assume that they wouldn't publish it if it weren't safe for everything, but I am just curious how a bullet of that shape can be seated as far out as something that is not straight and not be jammed into the lands. Well, looking at the dummy round I made up, it looks like shortly after the neck there is a slight decrease in diameter. I will measure that, and if it is less than .300 I guess I just answered my own question. Next, the book I have for some other bullets lists a Federal 215 for the primer. All I could get a hold of were some CCI LRMs. Is it ok to substitute these? Finally, I know you are supposed to reduce a load by 10% and work up. Is that 10% off of the max load or the lowest load. For example; for some hornady 190 gr btsp, the max listed load was 76.9 gr RL25, I think, for 2900 fps as the max load, then something for 2800 fps, and then 71.1 for 2700 fps, and some more on down to 2400 fps I think. I used the 2700 fps load. Is this ok, or should I dismantle these and go lower? Also, what is an acceptable tolerance for COL in general? Sorry for all the stupid questions, but I would rather ask than blow something up, and I don't really have anyone local to ask.

Edit:I just measured, and the Barnes goes down to about .2997-.2998 a little bit above the cannelure (is that still the proper term if it doesn't have any ridges?), so I guess that takes care of that one.

The data in the Hornady book for the 190 gr. BTSP and RL-25 is 65.3 gr.-2500fps; 68.2 gr.-2600 fps; 71.1 gr.-2700 fps; 74.0-2800 fps; 76.9 gr.-2900 fps.

Don't Get Wenzeled