The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old June 18, 2002, 07:33 PM   #1
redrider

washington state coyote hunters?

Anyone out there in Washington state hunting yoedel dogs? I am new to the game and would like to here from someone in my area to talk to or hunt with.
Old June 19, 2002, 12:03 AM   #2
J. Parker

Hey redrider, WELCOME to TFL. I'm not a coyote hunter but I'd just like to welcome you to TFL. I live in central Washington State and they're all over the place out here. Best, J. Parker
Old June 19, 2002, 02:29 PM   #3
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

This is actually Remmy's post

Remmy sez,

"Hey, I'm new to the game too, I'm just getting started with the coyotes. The knowledgable guys over at www.predatormastersforums.com can tell you everything you want to know. Great forums dedicated to hunting these smart animals."

Art sez, Remmy's most likely right. I've hung out at http://www.varminter.com and it has been a good site.
Old June 19, 2002, 07:22 PM   #4
Spectre
Staff Alumnus

Hey, redrider. Welcome to TFL!

I'm at Fort Lewis, next to Tacoma. I had never seen a live yodel dog until recently. We were in the field last week, and my squad (down to 4 and sergeant because of various training obligations) was serving as OPFOR for the 11Bravos in the company. It was about midnight Thursday night/Friday morning, and I was sitting on the ground, pressed into a huge clump of brush at the edge of the road. I was only armed with my PVS-14 night vision gear because I was designated a gunner for my mortar squad. Since he gets to carry a 60mm cannon, the gunner wears a Beretta M9 as a backup, and we had no 9mm blanks...
Anyway, it was fairly breezy, so I was wearing my GoreTex top. I was scanning to my right, and as I scanned back to my left, my monocular showed a large animal directly in front.