The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 26, 2002, 09:20 PM   #1
nsf003

Gun fund surplus. Good 12 Ga pump.

The gun fund is accumulating (slowly). I am looking at a 12 Ga pump. I have a Mossberg 500 in 20 Ga already and have shot an 870. I have no experience with a Winchester 1300. I like my Mossberg, but it is time to move up. Is the 870 or 1300 so much better that it would be justified in getting one of them instead of a Mossberg. I know that this topic has been discussed 8 billion times. Thank you.

nsf003

Molon Labe!
Lets Roll!
Old May 26, 2002, 10:16 PM   #2
Clemson

An 870 Wingmaster or an Ithaca Model 37 would be a step up from your Mossberg. The Ithaca tends to be a bit lighter than the Remington. Either is a high quality piece.
Gunsmith www.boltandbarrel.com
Old May 26, 2002, 11:00 PM   #3
Coronach

I would say either is an improvement, but probably not worth doing until you have your other niches filled. The Mossberg will work just fine, and even if it is a 20g it will still do almost everything a 12 will do.

Note that there are many people who would not consider an 870 a step up from a mossberg, and they're not exactly stupid. The differences are that small, and most of them are personal preference.

Of course, if you found a screaming deal on something, and you plan on doing the upgrade eventually, it might be worth doing now.

Mike

"True pacifism is the finest form of manliness. But if a man comes up to you and cuts your hand off, you don't just offer him the other one. Not if you want to go on playing the piano, you don't." -Sam Peckinpah