The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old September 22, 2014, 09:50 AM   #1
BerettaBrassCatcher

Handgun Brass Catcher

I am currently a high school student in Wisconsin, that goes to an engineering school which focuses on Project Based Learning. There is a Senior Project that is required to graduate which is supposed to be about 200 hours of work. For that senior project you are required to innovate something existing, invent something entirely new, or develop a marketable product. Since I am interested in firearms I had the idea of developing a brass catcher for semi-automatic handguns. Specifically right now I am looking at developing one for the Beretta 92FS platform. The brass catcher itself would be 3D printed and molded into the grip plate and then screwed on, or it would be removable with a pin or snap insert (or both). That way you could take it on/off with no issues or you could leave it on the gun if you target shoot often. The component that holds the brass would either be a plastic receptacle (like a reverse magazine) or part of it is plastic and with a little net or bag on the bottom.

Advantages: You don't have to pick up your brass. The brass is clean and ready for reloading (since it doesn't get dirty on the ground). It might reduce the noise level coming from the ejection port a little. Easy cleanup.

Engineering Goals:
1. Doesn't affect grip.
2. Works effectively.
3. Easy to use.
4. Easily removable.
5. Stands up to shooting and is durable.
6. Must hold at least 15 spent casings (normal magazine size of the Beretta 92).

Comments, Concerns, Suggestions? I am pretty passionate about this idea, I know it wouldn't work for Glocks (sorry) but 1911's and Beretta 92's it would. Do you think it's doable? Would you guys be interested in this type of product? Let me know and try not to shoot me down (lol).
Old September 22, 2014, 11:18 AM   #2
jetinteriorguy