The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old June 4, 2016, 07:08 PM   #1
rfxcasey

How bright should night sights be?

Hey all, I just purchase a new FN FNS 40 with night sights and while I'm no expert, they seem pretty darn dim to me. Looking at some pictures of other night sights online most of them seem much brighter then mine. I don't know exactly when the sights were manufactured but do you think it would be worth sending the gun back to the manufacture for?
Old June 4, 2016, 07:16 PM   #2
jabba21

Have you tried actually shooting the gun in the dark or a lowlight setting? Are they useable?

I really am not sure what kind of answer one could give on how bright they should be. Bright enough to be usable I guess.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old June 4, 2016, 07:27 PM   #3
Pahoo

From across the dark room

Quote:
I really am not sure what kind of answer one could give on how bright they should be. Bright enough to be usable I guess.
This can be somewhat subjective. However, if you are not happy with them then they are suspect. I know that they have a new rating and a life-span. Don't know if this will be of much help, but I can see mine from across a dark room. I know that they will certainly give good performance, in my hands. Take a second look and see what you think. ........

If I'm correct, these have traceable serial number and documented. ....
Old June 4, 2016, 09:35 PM   #4
rfxcasey