The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old September 5, 2009, 09:31 PM   #1
45Gunner

Do you consider yourself a collector?

I have been collecting guns for many, many years...since I returned from Vietnam in 1970. I did it for my own enjoyment as I like to shoot and I have had a CCW for all those years. I never told anyone about my hobby but things have changed. I am now retired and people ask what I do to occupy my time. I rattle off several things such as riding my motorcycles, boating, flying, white water rafting, and gun collecting. For some unknown reason, people seem to freak out about gun collecting and look at me like I am some radical, wild man.

So, my question to you guys is, how do you classify yourself? Are you a collector? A sport shooter? Or just interested in CCW as a means of self defense?

And...how do your friends that are not gun enthusiast feel about your interest?

I have left hunting out of the equation as I believe that to be a sport within itself.
NRA Life Member
Old September 5, 2009, 09:39 PM   #2
srt 10 jimbo

I collect and I hunt,got some old relics and some modern firearms that I hunt with. sometimes I even trade.
Old September 5, 2009, 09:58 PM   #3
zxcvbob

I'm an accumulator. It's not a collection yet.
Old September 5, 2009, 10:01 PM   #4
Sevens

To people who don't know guns, I don't mind if they refer to me as a collector. I suppose, to some degree, I am- simply because when I buy a gun, I plan to have it the rest of my life. And with the exception of a utility shotgun or an everyday carry gun, I also try my best to baby them so that they will always look as new as I can keep them if I can.