The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old April 2, 2002, 12:51 AM   #1
MitchSchaft

Help me choose a safe for my truck.

I need a safe that will bolt down to the floor of my truck under the seat. Has anybody heard of or seen this being done? It needs to be big enough for one handgun.
Old April 2, 2002, 08:11 AM   #2
popnokick

Here's one, but I have no experience with it -

http://www.aegisindustries.com/travelkit.htm
Old April 2, 2002, 09:10 AM   #3
loknload

Under The Seat

Here's one that I've been toying with getting, Just haven't done so yet. I really should since my Suburban has no locking compartments in it

http://www.underseatstorage.com/default.htm
Old April 2, 2002, 11:30 AM   #4
Futo Inu

I'm very happy with my RD Enterprises safe

It's bolted down to the front seat passenger-side floorboard, and holds 2-3 pistols plus mags, etc. I have the model 4811-S It kinda acts like a footrest for my short passengers, and I've never had a complaint even from taller passengers. It wouldn't fit under the seat, or even in the x-cab floorboard (it would have installed there, but the door would not have been able to swing open due to the central tranny hump). I will post pics of it later.

Advantages of the RD: No electrical components/batteries, etc. to mess with or fail you - just a punch combo that you can change as often as you want.

www.handgunsafe.com
Old April 2, 2002, 04:13 PM   #5
asleepinTucson

I have improvised with a locking gun case (padlocked on both sides) and a cable lock.

I don't advertise so I don't expect anyone will break in with a pair of bolt cutters in hand
Old April 2, 2002, 05:46 PM   #6
MitchSchaft

Thanks for the suggestions, guys!
Foto, how did you bolt yours down to the floor? It looks exactly like something I'm looking for.
Old April 2, 2002, 11:40 PM   #7
mdlowry

I picked up one of these . AFAIK, it will only work in a Dodge truck though.
Old April 3, 2002, 01:21 AM   #8