The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 18, 2009, 04:52 PM   #1
jman841

Moss 835

Hey guys, i am fairly new to shotguns and i bought a Mossberg 835 ulti-mag the other day from a gunshow for 209 dollars. It is in good condition however i did no realize at the time that it was overbored and can not fire slugs. What are your opinions on this shotgun? I took it to the range yesterday and put about 100 rounds through it without a problem. Shot great.

Also, how do the chokes on these things work? the choke in there right now says its a Modified choke but when the guy i bought it from used the choke gauge to measure it, it read much larger than a modified choke is supposed to be. Is it designed to be like this because of the overbored barrel?

Also, How does the performance of this gun compare to that of a regular barrel in terms of spread and power down range with different shells?

I only shot remington Gun club ammo through it which is a number 8 shot and looses energy very quickly. At 50 yards the pellets would barley pierce both sides of a soda bottle. is that normal?
Old March 18, 2009, 04:55 PM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

Slug barrels are available for the 835...
The rest I cannot answer as I have done no more than dream of an 835...
Brent
Old March 18, 2009, 06:54 PM   #3
Doyle

You cannot use a standard choke gauge to measure degree of choke on an overbored barrel. It just won't give an accurate measurement. The only way to know for shure how any choke will perform is to pattern the gun on paper. I don't have a pattern reference handy but I'm sure you can find one on the internet. A pattern reference chart shows what percentage of the shot charge falls within a 30" circle at a given distance.
Old March 18, 2009, 07:26 PM   #4
TxGun