The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old April 5, 2015, 05:39 PM   #1
Joe_Pike

Feeling Undergunned

I have been carrying for quite a few years now and have carried a 642 90% of the time with the other 10% being something like an LCP. I have always felt like I had plenty of gun with me for the places in town that I frequent.....until the last year or so.

The city I live in is consistently in the top five most dangerous mid-sized cities in the country for the last few years. I have had two attempted break-ins at my house and there have been two murders in my neighborhood in the last year....and I live in a pretty GOOD neighborhood. Home invasions and robberies seem to be carried out by teams instead of individuals and the homeless population is increasing everyday here (not saying all homeless are violent, but many are).

I keep feeling like I need to carry something with a higher capacity but I sure do love to pocket carry. I can carry a G26 in my pocket, but not nearly as comfortably as the 642. Carrying OWB or IWB just doesn't seem to work for me because of how how I am built. I have thought of moving to a CM9, but that is only an increase of two rounds.

If I can't figure something out, I'll probably just pocket carry the 26 with an extra mag, even though it feels more brick-like in my pocket. If I was 6'4" and 200 pounds the choice would be easier.
Old April 5, 2015, 05:49 PM   #2
EIGHTYDUECE

Try a KelTec P-11 9mm. It is flatter than the Glock yet still carries 10 rounds in the mag (flush fitting 12 rounders available from KelTec) It is also true (long pull) DAO which I would prefer for pocket carry. It will also accept 15 round S&W mod 59 magazines.

"Shop Smart, Shop S-Mart"- ASH
Old April 5, 2015, 05:54 PM   #3
Joe_Pike