The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 10, 2012, 07:35 PM   #1
ZOOM2X

usual colors for cartridge cases?

I've never done any reloading as I've done very little shooting. I soon, however, intend to join a gun club and start shooting. I want to reload, more for the pleasure of the accomplishment, than for the cost savings, but the savings will always be nice. (I'm still reading re equipment but as a newbie I think the Lee CTP is the way I'll start.)

I've looked at some of the neat reloading benches on these forums. I noticed cases, primers, powder, bullets and reloaded cartridges stored in everything imaginable. Some cartridges in all the same color boxes, others with 2 or even 3 colors.

I was thinking of buying storage cases from J and J Products, which, after a little internet snooping, appears to be a "paper" company that has had Pope Products make their moulds, and then make and drop ship their cases to the customer.

They look like good cases and they have 6 colors so I thought I'd go white for .380, camo for 9MM X 19, yellow for .38, blue for .40 S&W, red for 45 ACP and smoke for 45 LC. Does this sound like a good plan?

Is there any "convention" for colors for the various calibers? I just don't want to buy all this stuff and then have someone tell me that "everyone" uses something else and I'll confuse someone. TIA
Old March 10, 2012, 07:49 PM   #2
Pottermountainman

If your referring to the color of the boxes you store your reloaded ammo in, the only person it needs to make sense to is you. Proper identification of reloaded ammo is the most important aspect of storing it for yours and others safety. I use the same type and color boxes for all of my reloaded ammo and I lablel every box with caliber, charge, and bullet weight and type with the date it was loaded. That way leaves nothing to question.
Old March 10, 2012, 07:56 PM   #3
Ideal Tool