The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old September 3, 2011, 04:27 AM   #1
PunchinPaper

Inexpensive Long Range Optics ?

I am looking for a quality inexpensive Mil-Dot Scope.
If that is possible..
It will be used for hunting and rangeing targets/game.
I am new to mil dot scopes, but have a fairly decent understanding of how they operate. I doubt I will ever use it for 1000yrd shots, but I would like to have the ability to range and take game at long distances if needed.
This scope will probably sit on a Savage 30-06 or 308.
What I am looking for ideally is a good,clear, zero holding Mil-Dot scope thats inexpensive but not cheap/junk!
Does anyone know where to buy one that fits the bill?
Old September 3, 2011, 05:37 AM   #2
Double Naught Spy

What do you consider long range? What sort of mangification do you need? Fixed or variable?

For actual longer ranges, 300+ yards, I would say that you won't likely find anything that will be appropriate.

The notion of "long range and quality" are mostly exclusive from "inexpensive." My guess is that you will get a few suggestions for scopes that will fit your desription, but the quality will be hit or miss when you queck the reviews.
Old September 3, 2011, 06:46 AM   #3
kraigwy

Try this one, Weaver Tactical Grand Slam Rifle Scope 3-10x 40mm

On sale now for $299 at Midway USA. It's a mil dot scope.

Weaver makes some great quality scopes for the price. The 10X will get you out there. I've used a 10X (T-10) for 1000 yard shooting for years and never felt I needed more power.

I found anything higher to pick up too much mirage and heat off the barrel.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tNumber=598484
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old September 3, 2011, 06:50 AM   #4
Kreyzhorse

Quote:
I am looking for a quality inexpensive Mil-Dot Scope.