The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 29, 2008, 01:18 PM   #1
shooter313

What do I need to buy to start loading with the Hornady L-N-L??

I am not new to reloading, but I am new to progressive reloaders. I am going to buy a new Hornady L-N-L, but I have no clue what I need to buy with it. Other than the shell plate, and a bag of 10 of the bushings which seem to be a great deal.
I am going to set it up to load .45ACP first, then add more later on. Other than the shell plate what else would I need to make this work? (Shell holders, how many? etc..)
I have a set of RCBS .45 Carbide dies, but from what I have read I am not sure if they will work in this press? I do not understand the powder measure either. To load the handgun loads I want, do I need to buy the mic adjustable insert for the powder measure? And if I do, do I need the other things to go with it that it says I need on the web site?
I am sorry if this is an old question, but I have searched this site several times now, and I dont see answers for this question.
Thank you all VERY MUCH for your help and understanding with my questions.
Gary Heaton
Lockport, NY
Old September 29, 2008, 02:42 PM   #2
warski

Gary,

The L-N-L AP comes with a "standard" powder rotor and metering unit, which is good for 5-100 grains of powder. Hornady makes a "pistol" rotor and metering unit that is good for .5-17 grains. Hornady recommends that you buy extra metering inserts, and have them pre-set for various powders so you can simply "L-N-L".

The AP does not come with the "Powder Through Expanders", or the "Taper Crimp Dies" you'll need if loading for auto loading pistols. They also have a "Powder Cop" die if you want to keep an eye on the charge.