The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 24, 2008, 11:10 AM   #1
BerettaBill

Case life for reloading 40 S&W.

I have heard quite a few horror stories on this board and elsewhere about accidents involving reloaded 40 S&W rounds. Granted most of the stories I have come across are about some cowboy loading hot loads. I am fairly new to reloading and I load quite a bit of 40 S&W rounds. I have also read that this particular round produces more pressure on the casing than most other calibers. This all got me thinking about the number of times that it is safe to reload a 40 S&W casing. For the average caliber there are a number of schools of thought on the max number of reloads per case. I am interested to know everyones opinions on how many loads are safe for the 40 S&W case. This board and the combined wealth of information that all of it's members contribute has been extremely helpful to me as a new reloader. Thanks.
Old February 24, 2008, 11:34 AM   #2
TexasSeaRay

Bill,

My first rule for reloading is clean/tumble all cases and inspect.

My second rule is stay within the published boundaries concerning reloading and powder charges and configurations.

My third rule is to reload and shoot my cases until they wear out. They'll let you know when they're not fit to shoot. They'll have cracks; or when you go to set the bullet in, it will almost fall by itelf into the case and onto the powder charge because the brass (flared) can't support it.

My fourth rule is to scrounge for brass whenever and wherever I can find it.

Jeff

So to those of you who are members of neither, thanks for nothing.
Old February 24, 2008, 01:35 PM   #3
Shoney

I second the comments of TexasSeaRay. I have some 40SW cases with 20+ midrange pressure loads thru them.