The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 23, 2012, 01:49 PM   #1
5RWill

Progressive press recommendations?

Three weeks ago i started shooting USPSA and realized the amount i'm shooting is a little much for the amount of time it takes to load. Going fast IIRC it took around 6 hours to reload 200rds of 45acp with rock chucker single stage and throwing powder charges, weighing every 10 rounds. So i want to go to progressive for my AR and handguns.
Old June 23, 2012, 02:09 PM   #2
mikejonestkd

My cousin own a Dillon 1050 and it really can crank out quality ammo in a short amount of time. the down side is that there is the added expense of the press and set up time if changing calibers. He shoots over 500 rounds a week at matches and doesn't have the time to spend a whole evening reloading, so its perfect for him.

I went from a rock chucker to a Lee classic turret two years ago and its exactly the right press for my use - 100 - 200 rounds of several different calibers each week or so. I average between 160-180 rounds per hour, weighing every ten charges and measuring OAL every ten. Changing dies takes seconds. That's perfect for my needs.

How may rounds a week do you anticipate reloading? That would help narrow down the field.
Old June 23, 2012, 02:22 PM   #3
Lost Sheep

Blackops_2,

Thanks for asking our advice.

After loading on my Rockchucker for a few years, I used a couple of Lee Pro-1000 progressive presses, but never got comfortable with them for a variety of reasons. So I "upgraded" to a Lee Classic Turret. I am MUCH happier now.

But one of the reasons I like the Turret because changing calibers is very simple.