The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 3, 2013, 11:52 AM   #1
BoogieMan

NH Moose hunting

My buddy bought a small place near Pitsburg, NH. They call it moose alley. Anyway I would like to hunt his property and the surounding area. I have never hunted moose. I am sure some scouting will be in order, but I have no mentor to fill me in on the finer points. Can they be hunted the same as Whitetail? Normaly I hunt N. PA (Tioga county) from a stand on my own ground. No bait, just pot luck as we have stands strategicaly located with trails. Most of what I see for Moose is stalking. At this point I am in the early stages and havent even bothered to put in for the tag lotery. If I win a tag I dont know what to do with it.
Your tactics suck"
- Unknown
Old March 4, 2013, 05:48 PM   #2
Jack O'Conner

There is probably a good DVD about moose hunting that you can buy.

I've only taken one bull moose so I'm no expert. Years ago, I hunted with a Cree guide in Saskatchewon, Canada. We prowled around connected lakes in a canoe fitted with an outboard motor. I shot my bull twice through the chest at about 125 yards or so with my .308 rifle. He went down fast.

Jack

Last edited by Jack O'Conner; March 6, 2013 at 06:19 PM.
Old March 4, 2013, 10:44 PM   #3
math teacher

Moose aren't that hard to kill, but it can take them a while to figure it out. You need to hear from those who have had experience in your area. I have hunted them a lot in BC, but that is not relevant to your area.
Old March 7, 2013, 07:40 PM   #4
NHSHOOTER

First thing, get in the lottery and good luck, I live in NH and know of many many guys that try and never get picked, I am pretty sure that you can buy a tag from someone that was lucky in the draw.
You will need to do some scouting the prior few weeks before the season if you do get picked. There are a few guides in the area that know their stuff and you will most certainly at least see a few.