The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old August 6, 2015, 09:38 PM   #1
Springfield03a3

help with pillar bedding a boyds laminate stock !!!!!

Hello all I have been getting alot of information from everyone on this site and have a question .. im going to attempt to pillar bed by marlin x7vh in 22-250 into a boyds thumbhole stock.. I am very mechanical inclined and am a machinist by trade so making the pillars is no problem for me my question is what epoxy should I use to glue the pillars into the stock and about how much clearance should I give between the pillar o.d and the size of the hole I put in the stock were the pillar will be glued ? Any help is greatly appreciated thanks everyone .. hopefully some epoxy I could get locally as well so I dont have to pay an arm and a leg for shipping lol
Old August 6, 2015, 10:07 PM   #2
Colorado Redneck

https://www.stockysstocks.com/epoxy-instructions/
Old August 7, 2015, 12:19 AM   #3
Scorch

Drill the holes about 1/32" larger than the pillars. This will allow some resin around the pillars.

Cut the pillars to the exact length needed.

Use epoxy resin (as used in aeronautic or marine applications) as opposed to polyester resins (as used in automotive applications). Good resins can be found in many places, but you want slow cure resins (90 minute to 24 hours cure time, no 5-minute cure resins). Devcon, West Systems, Bisonite are some of the best, but others will work.
Old August 7, 2015, 06:31 AM   #4
Mobuck

Don't forget to cut "lock grooves" in the outer surface of your pillars. I also take a Dremel burr and cut a couple of circumference grooves in the stock holes for extra gripping.
Old August 7, 2015, 07:28 AM   #5
Springfield03a3