The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 13, 2014, 09:35 PM   #1
Nick_C_S

Brass discoloration

I'm new to SS pin tumbling. With some of my brass, I chose to oven dry. I have a gas oven and set it to 220f - figuring to go a little over the boiling point of water. I have an oven thermometer and the oven's thermostat is accurate.

All the brass I oven dried slightly discolored from that normal bright yellow brass color to a tawny, slightly orange-ish discoloration.

What happened? Surely the brass didn't get hot enough to anneal. They were first tumbled with water, a squirt of Dawn, and just a 1/2 of a 380 ACP cartridge full of Lemi-shine. 1lb water; 1lb pins; 1lb brass. I rinsed them really well before placing in the oven.

Air dried brass is fine. This is 38 Special brass, if it matters. Fairly new - fired maybe once or twice. Most of it - but not all - is Winchester.

I'm also curious if it's permanently discolored, or if it will tumble back out. (I'm guessing it's permanent.)
Old March 14, 2014, 12:39 AM   #2
Wreck-n-Crew

They will tumble back out. I have done the same thing. I try not to use the oven but when I get busy I just set it on 150 degrees or some ovens it is the warm setting. Some may only go as low as 180.

If your batches are not that big it is faster to shake them out good with a strainer, spread them out on whatever your using to oven dry them and use a hair dryer and blow dry them while shaking them around here and there.
Old March 14, 2014, 12:58 AM   #3
Rondog

I dry mine in the sun, but I've found that if I spread them out wet they'll tarnish so fast I can almost watch it happen.

After I rinse them real well, I dump them on a big cotton towel and blot them real good with another cotton towel. Cotton is the most absorbent, don't bother with any synthetics. And worn-out cotton towels are even more absorbent.