The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 26, 2002, 06:43 PM   #1
KPS

Help Me Choose A HD Shotgun

I have no experience with shotguns since shooting them about 13 years ago.I want a pump that has lots of upgrade potential which leads me to the REm 870 and Moss 500.Are there any models that come standard with 18"-20" barrels with ghost ring sights?I don't plan on shooting trap/skeet or hunting with it so it will be primarily for home defense.Can anyone lead me in the right direction or give me some suggestions?
Old June 26, 2002, 06:51 PM   #2
Rob62

As far as I know only the Mossberg comes with factory ghost ring sights installed as an option. Both come from the factory with 18" barrels.

My recomendation like many here will be to get the 870. Not that there's anything wrong with the Mossy. Its hard to go wrong with either. Try to shoot both if possible and get the one that you find to be the most comfortable and easiest to hit with.

Good luck with your decision.
Rob
Old June 26, 2002, 07:00 PM   #3
Andrew Wyatt

You really can't go wrong with any of the big three.

Mossbergs are nice, and you can buy a long barrel model, for non HD stuff, and buy their ghost ring sight kit which is an 18 inch barrel and rear sight (which installs in holes already tapped into the reciever)
Old June 26, 2002, 07:18 PM   #4
9mmMike

For SG that will sit at home and (hopefully) never be fired in anger, I'd get the Mossy. It's cheaper and as Rob mentioned, it is already tapped for the ghost ring.
Personally, I like the 870's but I shoot a bunch and that's the SG that I liked the best.
If you are not going to shoot it much, why spend the extra dough?
Both are fine, reliable weapons.
Mike
IF YOU LIVE IN PA AND DID NOT VOTE, YOU DESERVE TO LOSE YOUR GUNS!
Old June 26, 2002, 10:01 PM   #5
Fish Springs