The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 5, 2005, 07:58 PM   #1
rwfisher

stiff hunting boots

I'm looking for a new pair of hunting boots. The cornstalkers I've been using for the last several years are getting long in the tooth....

I have a pair of hiking boots (very stiff, heavy-duty backpacking boots) that I have found to be great for hunting in rocky, steep terrain. The only drawback is that they're soled with a hard rubber that makes a racket in the woods. Does anyone know of a very stiff hunting boot that has a soft sole (perhaps vibram?)?
Old October 6, 2005, 10:58 AM   #2
Rich Lucibella
Staff

Danner Trophy Hunters.....you'll never do better.

If you have specific foot problems, WestCo Boots will make custom boots for a very reasonable price. You pick everything from the height to the sole to the lacing. Very stiff. Long break-in.

Rich
Old October 6, 2005, 10:36 PM   #3
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

Hmmm. Interesting about how folks feel about how stuff works. In no way am I gonna say that the stiff boots are "wrong", but I've gone the opposite direction.

I hunt in very steep, very rocky country down here in the desert. Walking hunting, 12 to 15 miles in a day. (My legs went and got old on me, so I don't go so far these days.) I've always preferred a flat, crepe-soled Russell Bird Hunter or Red Wing 20-mile. My experience has been that the soft sole sorta "wraps around" the rocks. On the sharp stuff, it's sorta like an art gum eraser on sandpaper.

, Art
Old October 6, 2005, 10:44 PM   #4
hkg3

Have you looked into Redwings?
Old October 6, 2005, 10:55 PM   #5
Capt. Charlie
Moderator Emeritus