The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old August 19, 2016, 07:02 PM   #1
shoei

hey there guys and gals new to forum any help?

hello there, I'm fairly new to guns, i recently had a motorcycle accident that left my wrist and knee broken, stuck at home with months of recovery i got into guns and have kinda liked it, i may have went out a lil crazy, like i said i have no experience with guns but hope this forum will help, i currently now own an ar-15, 1911, a thompson, a ruger 306 hunting rifle, a remington 12 gauge, a 9mm, and a glock.

my questions are

how often should i clean them and how?
whats the best deal on ammo?
how to get better at shooting and forms?
how to know if I'm getting a deal on a firearm?
should i upgrade any parts?
anything i should look into investing into(parts,cases,mags,ammo,cleaning stuff)?

again thank you for the help, i have recovered from my accident( still in therapy).
Old August 19, 2016, 09:18 PM   #2
johnwilliamson062

You need to find someone local to help you with a lot of that stuff. I'd recommend you start with some classes.

How often you clean depends on what you use to clean, how much you shoot, how you store, and whether you had an authority figure mercilessly inspect your firearms in the past.
Old August 20, 2016, 04:05 AM   #3
ballardw

"Best" would be a matter of what you want or expect from your ammo. If the activity is precision long range then ammunition with the best accuracy in your firearm. If the interest is plinking then price may be more important. For actual self-defense then reliability as tested in your weapon may well the most important criteria.