The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 9, 2011, 05:59 PM   #1
BigShep85

1878 colt double barrel question...

I found an old colt double barrel and the only number on it is no. 3.....I am new to the shotgun scene any help or insight would be appreciated. it is not hammerless.
Thanks
bigshep85

Last edited by BigShep85; July 9, 2011 at 06:45 PM.
Old July 9, 2011, 06:51 PM   #2
Dfariswheel

Colt made an 1878 model and an 1883 model.
The 1883 was a hammerless gun.

All these Colt shotguns had serial numbers like almost all other Colt firearms.
If the serial number actually is number 3, it would have value to a collector.
Check the gun over carefully to see if there's another serial number on it.

The Model 1878 hammer gun was available in 10 or 12 gauge with barrels from 28 to 32 inches.
The barrels were browned or blued damascus steel.
It had double triggers, side plates, and a color case hardened receiver.
The stock was a semi-pistol grip style.

Colt made 22,683 of these guns between 1878 and 1889.
Many of these guns were custom order models with custom options, and the custom order guns are worth more money.

In order to identify whether yours is a custom order gun, you'd have to buy a Colt Archive letter. Colt will do a hand search of the Colt records for your specific gun and send you a letter detailing everything Colt knows about the gun, including in what configuration if was shipped, whether it had custom features, when it was shipped, and who it was shipped too.
An Archive letter for a shotgun costs $100.00

http://www.coltsmfg.com/CustomerServ...eServices.aspx

Values for the standard production Model 1878 are based on the percentage of remaining original finish, and on the gun being undamaged.
Values run from a low of a 10% gun at $725, to over $4,000 for one in 100%.
A custom order gun would be more.