The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 13, 2005, 12:18 AM   #1
vicvic

lets just say.......

if you were in the unlikely situation of protecting yourself against two legged creatures and all you had was a black powder rifle/revolver what would it be? i know they are outdated and under powered and im not looking to use one for self defense. i just thought it would make for a some what interesting thread.
Old October 13, 2005, 08:24 AM   #2
johnrtse

I would definately pick a pistol.

And I would hardly call a BP .44 cal Remington or Colt underpowered. They are almost as powerful as a modern .44 Magnum, and that round ball will leave a much bigger exit hole!

JMO,
John
Old October 13, 2005, 12:24 PM   #3
vicvic

i stand corrected. i was under the impression that they were under powered. i am just getting into black powder so im a little in the dark. im diggin the ruger old army in the 5 1/2 in barrel even though it is a more modern design.
Old October 14, 2005, 05:26 PM   #4
Pezo

Im likeing that 5.5" ruger old army myself. So much so that Im getting one for christmas. (thanx santa) . I own currently (just ) 3 .357 magnum da. ruger revo's Id prefer to have over a black powder gun for defense, however the old army would be better than nothing. It wouldnt be to much fun for the bad guy being on the recieving end of six black powder charges. . I think the shooting and reloading process of the cap and ball revolver look like a very enjoyable shooting scene. cleanup looks a little pain staking but I think it would be worth it.

Last edited by Pezo; October 14, 2005 at 06:32 PM.
Old October 14, 2005, 06:11 PM   #5
mec