The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 30, 2009, 08:48 PM   #1
IrvJr

Which reduced recoil 308 Win load to consider?

I have been reloading in earnest for a couple of years now. I have been reloading straight walled handgun cartridges (.44 mag/.44 sp, 45 Colt, 38/357, etc.) for my revolvers and carbine (Winchester lever action) with good results.

I would like to start reloading rifle cartridges, starting with the 308 Win caliber. In addition to developing a normal pressure load for my rifle, I would also like to develop a reduced recoil load for a shorter barrel gun (16 or 18" barreled bolt action).

I've done some research and found some published reduced recoil loads in the Speer reloading manual (which I own) and on the Hogdon website (which I downloaded). I've also read that the Lyman manual has some reduced recoil loads which use handgun powders for cast bullets (but reportedly can be used with jacketed bullets as well).

I currently use the Speer reloading manual, but I also have a copy of the Hogdon manual (plus their online load data website), and was thinking about purchasing the Lyman reloading manual.

Which reduced recoil load should I try out first? Initially I was thinking I should start at with the Hogdon loads, because I could purchase H4895 powder and use it with my normal pressure loads and with my reduced pressure loads.

However, I was wondering if other folks have had better (more accurate and consistent) results using other reduced pressure loads.

What do you recommend/like for a published reduced recoil load in 308 Win?

Thanks!
Old October 1, 2009, 01:02 AM   #2
joneb

I use Blue Dot with Nosler 125 BT for sub moa groups at 100yds.
What bullet and velocity are you after.
Old October 1, 2009, 05:38 AM   #3
IrvJr

jibjab - thanks for the reply.