The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 12, 2010, 03:45 PM   #1
garymb

Browing 12ga from the 1950's

I inherited a Browning 12 gauge 2 3/4" over-under shotgun and am trying to determine its value. The main reason for this is I would like to go hunting--turkey at first, maybe other game birds also--and am wondering if should I sell this one and buy something a little less 'nice'. I have taken the shotgun trap shooting and love it--I am comfortable and accurate with it, plus having a full and modified choke on one gun is a nice feature. Here are my concerns: that I would damage the gun or decrease its value by taking it hunting (getting it dirty or scuffed up--you tell me, I'm a newbie), and also visibility--would it help me that much to have a cammo shotgun? The shotgun is in good condition with the exception of some moisture damage to the finish on the stock near the recoil pad, and a scuff on the stock about 1" long and .20" wide at its widest, also near the recoil pad. I did not find a serial or model number, but "Made in Belgium" is stamped onto the barrel along with patent numbers and "Browning Arms Company St. Louis, Missouri". I installed a new recoil pad, but still have the old one. I also have the original padded case for the shotgun. I had the shotgun appraised, but I think they were low-balling me: they offered $425 and their reasoning was this: the recoil pad had been replaced (I even showed them the original, go figure), the gun shows handling wear, the front bead has been replaced, and the stock is cut--this last one is news to me, is there a way I can confirm (or disprove) this? I had originally heard the case by itself is worth a decent amount, so I am suspicious to say the least. So, any estimates on value or suggestions as to if I should keep this one for hunting or sell it and use the money to buy another shotgun and gear?
Attached Images