The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 18, 2012, 08:28 AM   #1
learningcurve

Glock 19 Question

Hello to everyone, first off I wanted to say thank you ahead of time for any help you can offer me in the future. It will always be appreciated. I am new to reloading I have done around 75 .223 rounds around 100 .380 acp about 25 .45 acp and shot them all, loved that feeling of shooting what I had made. I shot better groups as well with them all. Now having said all that I move on to my question.

I have a Glock 19 which is a 9mm obviously, that I have reloaded about 15 lead rounds for. I am not 100% sure but I believe it is called a SWC round or a flat nose, they have the cone from the RN boolit but have the Flat top. So I was thinking no big deal on shooting lead through the Glock as I have done it to both my S&W guns. I had no leading or any other issues that I had read so much to be on the lookout for, then last night I read that glocks can and most likely will blow apart if you shoot lead through them. I was reading this on a post for a G22 which I know is a .40 cal however they didnt seem to make it sound as if this was a issue for that specific cal/gun combo or all across the board. So is it safe to shoot lead through the G19 or should I just go ahead and by the FMJ rounds and call them good.

If it makes any difference I got the lead rounds for the 9mm by chance I had to use my store credit up before it expired and that was all they had in stock at the time. So its not as if it was something i made up and lost the material for.