The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old June 13, 2015, 04:48 PM   #1
grey.ghost

Focus on that front sight boy!

I grew up in Western Montana, and my father was my instructor. Never did he tell me to focus on the front sight. I started shooting when I was about eight, and had my own handgun by twelve. I am not the very best "one ragged hole" shot on the planet, but I do just fine and am extremely confident in my abilities. Fast forward forty years. I started reading shooting forums and was intrigued by some of the technique threads I've been reading.

In several of these threads I've read that one could magically shoot like a Navy Seal in seconds by focusing in the front sight. I had been thinking about that a lot, and wondered if that's how I shoot. I'm certain I could hold my own against most shooters, even Navy Seals, so that must be how I do it. Let's go check.

You're wondering at this point why I wouldn't just know whether I focus on the front sight of the top of my head. Yeah, me too.

Grabbed a couple revolvers, a couple autos, a bunch of ammo and some targets today and hit the woods.

Short answer is no, I do not focus on the front sight. I focus on my target and bring my gun to bear where the sights enter my field of vision, out of focus, and I fire... By instinct. I was disappointed in myself for "not doing it right" all these years. So I set out to fix that. What I found was the exact opposite of fixing it. Focusing on my front sight had me shooting everywhere, and I mean everywhere. I worked on this serious flaw in my shooting technique for hours and hundreds and hundreds of rounds of ammo today. Mostly .22 mind you.

My result?

I gave up and went back to instinct shooting. Point and shoot. That's how I learned and that's how I shoot best. Focusing on the front sight only helped me make a lot of very expensive noise.