The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old February 24, 2015, 09:06 AM   #1
Ruark

How does NFA work when it's a DIY conversion?

All the forms and information I've read on getting a trust or tax stamp refer to purchasing NFA items. How does it work when you're creating the item yourself? Say, for example, I wanted to make a Lightning Link or suppressor in my shop. How does it work then? I've often read people making comments like, "oh, just buy a stamp and make one," as if it were as simple as buying a loaf of bread. I'm sure it's not quite that simple....

Last edited by Ruark; February 24, 2015 at 09:28 AM.
Old February 24, 2015, 09:29 AM   #2
Skans

I'm not an NFA expert, but you can't make a lightning link without a special license, and even then I believe only government agencies can purchase them. No government agency is going to purchase a lightning link. Basically, no new machine guns that can be owned by and transferred to ordinary people (even with CLEO sign-off and/or Trust) after 1986. Post-86 machine guns are strictly forbidden. [I'm sure some NFA expert will clarify what I've said here.]

Silencers are different, as are AOW's, SBR's and SBS's. I believe anyone can make them as long as you do a form 1.
Old February 24, 2015, 09:32 AM   #3
Mobuck

I see "Form 1" mentioned as required BEFORE starting any building or conversion.
Suppressors have to be serial numbered before assembly???????????
All I can say is BATFE is holding US citizens hostage to their "approval".
Old February 24, 2015, 10:37 AM   #4
9x19

My limited understanding:

Individuals can make their own suppressors, Short Barreled Rifles, and Short Barreled Shotguns by filing a Form 1 first and getting approval.