The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 17, 2012, 12:05 AM   #1
dlburns

Primers not falling into tube

I am a newbie to reloading and just decapped 20 22-250 cases to reload. On my new Lee Challenger press there is a slot cut into the ram that allows the spent primers to fall into the clear tube attached to the bottom of the press. My problem is that the primers fly out of the slot in the ram rather than funneling down into the tube! Am I doing something wrong?
Old March 17, 2012, 12:09 AM   #2
Vance

There should be a primer installing arm that fits into the slot in the ram. That should be left in because it helps keep the spent primers going where they should.
Old March 17, 2012, 01:45 AM   #3
dacaur

+1... with my deluxe turret press, without the primer arm in the primers end up all over the floor, with it installed they go 95% where they should...
Old March 17, 2012, 08:27 AM   #4
ScottRiqui

Vance and dacaur have nailed it. It took me a few minutes with my first Lee press to realize that even if you're not priming, you have to keep a primer seating arm (either the large or the small - it doesn't matter) installed in the ram to route the primers correctly.
Old March 17, 2012, 01:40 PM   #5
Ethan.G

same thing happened to me dont feel bad, just keep that primer seater in there
Old March 17, 2012, 03:03 PM   #6
hounddawg

+ 1 for the screwed it up when I first started with it also crowd
Old March 17, 2012, 04:29 PM   #7
dacaur

The only problem I have had is sizing cases that have been tumbled without a primer (decapped before tumbling). The media stuck in the flash hole gets pushed out, and after a while the primer arm starts to stick and eventually gets flung out on the floor. I have just started removing it and wiping it and the ram down every time it starts to stick and all is well.
Old March 17, 2012, 07:00 PM   #8
PawPaw