The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old July 18, 2014, 01:13 PM   #1
jay0884

best ammo for home defense??

Hello, I'm Jay and a new member to this forum. I'm new to guns being that I live in Chicago and until recently it was illegal to own a gun here so I don’t know much about them. Since the change in laws I've decided to exercise my right to own a gun for home defense purposes. I went to the range to learn to shoot but since I always rented the guns I never paid much attention to the ammo I was using. I recently purchased a cz 75 sp 01 9mm handgun. Now I'm trying to decide which ammo is best for home defense. I've pretty much decided I want to go with hollow point bullets but don't know what brand to get. I'm assuming like hand guns if I asked which was the best 9mm I would get a million different answers. But I'm hoping to at least narrow it down to a couple good brands. If you feel brave enough to put a specific one out there I'd be glad to hear it. But at least some high recommended brands will do. Thanks.
Old July 18, 2014, 02:05 PM   #2
Derbel McDillet

Any of the 9mm loads listed here: http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.p...f-Defense-Ammo
Old July 18, 2014, 03:13 PM   #3
filthy phil

Speer gdhp or win rangers are in my 9s
Stay in the 124-147 range, imho
Old July 18, 2014, 06:23 PM   #4
Okcafe86

I'm a Hornady fan and right now I carry 135 gr critical duty in my 9mm. I've got Remington 230 gr golden sabers for my .45 if I ever lug that heavy thing around.
A-GANG/LOWER LEVEL MAFIA
Old July 18, 2014, 07:21 PM   #5
RX-79G

Jay,

If you buy any "premium defense ammunition" in a medium weight bullet from a big name company, you're doing about as well as you can. The differences between Winchester, Hornandy, Federal, etc are going to be slight. I would stay closer to 124 grain bullets, as the 147 grains are sometimes less likely to expand properly.