The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old January 5, 2008, 09:33 PM   #1
Curtis(USAF)

Tactics and tips for me, the southpaw.

Well, After some careful though and consideration, I've decided to drop this post here. I'm new to The Firing Line, and more then that, new to pistols in general. I've been shooting handguns for less then a year, and I didn't shoot much at all until I joined the military. I've only recently obtained my concealed carry license.

I'm left handed. Being lef thanded has always been a major thorn in my side when it comes to shooting pistols. From all appearances, rifles and shotguns are even worse.

Consider my 1911. I could easily reach the trigger (of course), the mag release, and the slide-lock, but I couldn't actuate the hammer lock down without fumbling the gun and darn near dropping it. So I dropped my 1911 in the shop for a brand new ambidextrous hammer safety. Problem solved right? Well there still is this one more then slightly massive issue.

Every now and then, when I fire the gun, my trigger finger will bounce up, and the second digit will bump the slide-lock, locking the slide back in the middle of firing. Being my first gun purchase, I definitely didn't imagine that it would be possible for my trigger finger to bump the slide-lock, and I definitely didn't notice until I started pulling the trigger the right way, (With the tip of your trigger finger,) The only way I can avoid accidentally locking my slide back, is to reduce my rate of fire, and modify the way I put my finger on the trigger in such as way as to reduce accuracy.