The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old January 4, 2016, 05:08 PM   #1
MeanestNiceGuy

Squib Load...Anybody Else Experienced This?

What's going on, everybody! I'm new here and I've spent a little bit of time reading around the forums....cool stuff.

I'm a pretty novice shooter (shooting for about a year) and I purchased a Kel-Tec PF9 back in August. I took it to the range a couple of weeks later (got stuck with an audit at work). I had no problems with it.

I took it back to the range again in October and had no problems with it, initially. I fed some Federal target ammo through it, while my girlfriend was firing a Glock 42 (which she enjoyed, nervously).

I let her shoot my Kel-Tec and she passed it back to me and said, "It won't shoot". I just thought that she was afraid to shoot it, so I took it and fired the first round with no problem. I noticed the trigger was a bit harder to pull on the second round, then BOOM! The front of my gun EXPLODED while firing. WTH???

It freaked me out and I swear my left hand was ringing like crazy. I went ahead and put it back in my bag so the range officer wouldn't see it and deny me a chance to rent one from the front desk.

I won't lie, that was a traumatizing experience and my senses haven't been the same at the range...not to mention that it was my girlfriend's first time shooting. I almost wanted to get rid of the gun because I thought I was sold a lemon.

I've been hearing mixed reviews about the Kel-Tec, so I didn't know how to respond to the explosion. When I found out that I had experienced a squib load, I was at ease...a little.

I packed it up and got ready to send it back to Kel-Tec....when I found out (at the counter) that I HAD to send it Next Day Air. I had three price options....$93, $87, or $62....I'm sure you can guess which one I chose, lol.