The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old April 29, 2010, 11:54 PM   #1
Savage Sam

New to suppressors, wanting to join the club.

I want to pick up a few surpressed firearms, beginning with a 22 pistol and a pair of 22 rifles, a bolt-action and a semiauto.

Based on my personal experience with Ruger rimfire firearms, I'm leaning towards a Mk II, Mk III, or 22/45 for the pistol. I've chosen the Ruger 10/22 & 77/22 for the rifles. All three guns will be used for informal target shooting, plinking, backpacking and small-game hunting. The deciding factors in what my purchase will be, in this order: long-term reliability/durability, accuracy, ease of cleaning/maintenance, dB reduction, and cost.

I have no experience with suppressed firearms, have never fired one. My questions are as follows:

1. A Google search turns up more manufacterers and options than I know what to do with. Stainless steel, aluminum, all kinds of baffle designs, stats, stats, stats. What makes and models are in your experience, repeatedly proven to work reliably and effectively under regular outdoor use and high round count (with proper care and cleaning of course)? Again, cost is not so much a factor as quality, but if 90% of the quality is available for a much more affordable price, I'd just as soon go with the cheaper option. Diminishing returns and all that.

2. What is a realistic expectation of sound signature reduction and effect on accuracy from the different designs and barrel lengths of the properly suppressed firearms, using proper subsonic ammo? What .22 LR ammunition have you found to be your preferred poison in your suppressed weapon and why?